LEGOs

Life with LEGOs.  That would be me.  I am married, with 2 boys, 2 dogs, 2 cats, a fish a guinea pig, a lionhead rabbit 8 chickens and at least 1,000,000 LEGOs all under one roof.  We find LEGOs everywhere, in the boys’ rooms, in the playroom, on the counter, on the table, in the furniture, under the furniture, in the laundry, in the washer, in the dryer, in the dishwasher, in beds, under the pillows, under the bed, under our deck, in the tub, I have even seen a few in the dogs’ poo.

When our first son was born I joked that we wouldn’t have Barbie shoes to step on or suck up in the vacuum.  We had another baby 3 years later and hoped for another boy, which we were given.  Within another 2-3 years our older son started moving from DUPLO blocks into the regular LEGO bricks.  The Barbie shoe comment had come back to bite me.  We now had LEGOs scattered everywhere.  They are not so bad to step on; at least you can see the ones that could hurt your feet.  It’s the little hands and guns and swords that get sucked up in the vacuum.  And anyone who has ever played with LEGOs knows that the minifigures are the essence of LEGO.  It’s not the bricks, or sets, or cool ships-it’s the minifigures.  So we have repeatedly sifted though the vacuum canister looking to make sure we didn’t pick up a piece from a minifigure.  I, however, refuse to go though the dog poo.

I talk about LEGOs not because I have two boys and loads of LEGOs but because LEGOs are not just toy bricks in our house-they are a way of life.  Our younger son has Asperger’s Syndrome, a high functioning form of Autism.  For whatever reason children with an Asperger’s diagnosis seem to love LEGOs beyond any other toy.  I once read in a blog written by an adult with Asperger’s that “LEGOs are like crack if you have Asperger’s.”  There is even a therapy for using LEGOs with children who have Asperger’s to help with communication and social skills.   To look at our son is to see a normal, very bright, highly verbal child.  However, he is quite socially awkward, especially with peers.  He has he things that he likes and the routines he needs to keep, but we are very lucky in that he is quite high functioning.  His day revolves around his access to LEGOs or anything LEGO related (the LEGO video games especially).  LEGO access is built into his behavior plan.

But, I am not writing this blog to talk about LEGOs (although I am sure they will have a starring role in many posts).  This will be my way to share the experiences my family has.  I will include all the frustration, hope, sorrow, anger, joy, love and laughter that my life and family bring me.  I hope to give advice and get advice.  I hope something we experience can help another family.  And if I can make a few people laugh along the way…even better.

2 responses to “LEGOs

  1. Just wait until Lego Land opens up in Winter Haven, Fl. I know where you’ll be on your weekends. ..and think of all the other aspie kids your son will meet. Hey, we could even carpool. My aspie son loves to build, too.

  2. My son is getting into Lego’s, and LOVES any Lego video game 🙂 (he is 6 with autism) (Courtney from A Legion for Liam)

Leave a Reply

