My Father’s Ghost…..

Well, not ghost.  Reincarnate?  No, that’s not right either.  You decide….

I was sitting in the optometrist office yesterday while the Brick was getting his vision therapy.  With only a few moments to go before the end of the session, I was trying to finish up a game on my iPad.  The office door opens and I notice a pair of jeaned legs and sneakered feet shuffle in.  For some weird reason I thought of my dad, who passed away June 6 of last year.  My dad almost always wore jeans and sneakers while at home, but so do many men.  Maybe the upcoming anniversary of his passing has my dad in the forefront of my mind.  I don’t know why this pair of legs and feet made me think of him.

I look up at the gentleman the feet and legs are attached to and the tears well in my eyes.  This man, this total stranger, could have been my father’s twin!  I stared—like socially inappropriately stared, with tears welling in my eyes!  The gentleman spoke and the voice was dramatically different from my father’s and I was snapped back into reality.  Knowing the Brick would walk out any second I fought the tears and looked back down at my iPad, still processing what I had just seen.

The inside office door opens and the Brick walks back into the lobby area and says, in a normal volume “Mom, its Grandad!” I could tell by his face and expression he knew it was not really my dad, but that this gentleman looked just like him.  The Brick had a funny sort of smile and odd expression on his face.  I asked how vision therapy was and he replied.  I stood up and we walked outside.  The Brick turned to me and said “He even smelled like Grandad.” 

By this time the tears had returned and I was shaking and crying.  I miss my dad so much and having seen someone who so closely resembled him so close to the anniversary of his passing was just too bizarre.   We got in the car and the Brick asked “Maybe Grandad got reincarnated?”  I replied “I doubt it.  He was ready to be with God and now Grandad is healthy and not in pain.”  “I know” the Brick said “but it would be cool to see him again.”

Yes, it would buddy, yes it would.  Love and miss you Daddy!

Image

Leave a Reply

