Back to School

The first week of the new homeschool year; it is always a time of excitement, anticipation and anxiety. I have plans. I have lessons. I have the space. I have the motivation. I also have the resistant nature of my son.
I knew he wouldn’t jump back into the routine. I knew there would be resistance. I hoped it would go well. It is going better than I thought, but not as well as I hoped. I’ll take it for day one.
I am confident in our curriculum. We have subjects that need to be taught and subjects of interest. The materials teach in a way that my son learns. So why does he resist?
He resists because learning is hard for him. He learns in such a unique way and he knows that, even under perfect teaching/learning circumstances, it will not be easy. His Autism, Dyslexia, Auditory Processing Disorder, Sensory Processing Disorder, anxiety and social challenges make learning hard. This is why we homeschool. So we can take it slow, teach and re-teach, review, move around, try new strategies, do whatever it takes.
Monday was not a perfect first day. Tuesday was not a perfect second day. However, at the end of the day, if my son has learned something new and is happy, confident and ready to learn more, then it was a successful day.

Leave a Reply

